Business Development Committee

The Laurentian Chamber of Commerce’s Business Development Committee meets the second Thursday of each month, at noon, at the Laurentian Chamber of Commerce office or member business.

The Business Development Committee routinely discusses topics that affect the businesses (large and small) within the Laurentian Chamber of Commerce community and determines how they can be better advocates for change (and continued business development) within our region.

The Business Committee works on developing projects (like our Laurentian Chamber Business Portfolio) that serve as conduits of information for businesses and individuals looking to expand or relocate to the region, as well as help the chamber survey the business community (and better determine our business community’s needs) through the Minnesota Chamber’s Grow Minnesota program, as needed.

Business Committee Members

  • John Ward, Chair – Komatsu
  • Nicholas Mathiowetz Co-Chair – NorthRidge Community Credit Union
  • Brad Gustafson – D. Gust Mini Storage
  • Linda Scott – Up North Title
  • Betsy Olivanti – SBDC
  • Bill Aho – Super 8/AmericInn
  • Glenn Patrick – GAP Engineering
  • Steve Peterson  – Entrepreneur Fund
  • Tom Dean – Usborne Books
  • Anne Jordan, Komatsu

Current Projects:

The Business Development Committee is working on broadband expansion in the region. A regional feasibility study is being completed. The Chamber is facilitating $150,000 worth of technology grants for the region through Blandin. This committee also leads the Small Business Saturday initiative. The Chamber has a new App available for download.